African countries with no visa ‘wahala’ for Ghanaians in 2019

I was recently reading a news article about how difficult it is for Africans to visit other African nations because of strict visa policies. It was an enlightening article which led me to research on the countries I could visit within Africa as a Ghanaian without applying for visa or countries that would require me to pay for my visa on arrival.

I used the International Air Transport Association (IATA) website for my short research and out of the 54/55 countries, Ghanaians can visit 22 African nations without a visa and 9 countries with visa on arrival or eVisa. This means you would have to pay some money when you arrive or apply for eVisa.

Visa Free African Countries for Ghanaians_2019


The African countries include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

15 of these countries are ECOWAS member states, of which Ghana is a member.

Related –> Tanzania Visa Info for Ghanaians

Related –> Kenya Visa Info for Ghanaians


BBC news article on ‘Why is it hard for Africans to visit other African countries“.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.